Bountiful Divorce Attorney Provides Personalized Support
Trustworthy family lawyer guides you through the divorce process in Utah
If you have decided to dissolve your marriage, how you proceed can make a great difference in the ultimate outcome. For these and other reasons, you want reliable advice from a skilled attorney who puts your best interests first. At her Bountiful law firm, Attorney Victoria Cramer has more than 21 years of family law experience, which includes guiding Utah residents through the divorce process. Ms. Cramer provides personalized counsel that fits your unique circumstances and helps you move forward with confidence.
Requirements to file for divorce in Utah
Either you or your spouse must have lived in the state of Utah for at least three months prior to filing a divorce petition. If there are any minor children from the marriage, the residence requirement is six months, although the court is sometimes willing to make an exception under certain circumstances. Parents of minor children are also required to complete a Divorce Education class.
You must also choose grounds for divorce. Utah allows you to file for a no-fault divorce based on irreconcilable differences, where neither party alleges fault, but the state also allows petitioners to file traditional grounds such as adultery, willful desertion and extreme cruelty. If you have a religious or moral objection to divorce but feel your spouse’s misconduct has left you no other choice, citing fault grounds creates a public record that could confirm your position, but you need to be able to prove any grounds you allege.
The divorce process in Utah
Divorce proceedings begin when a petitioner files a Verified Complaint for Divorce in the county court where either spouse resides. There is a filing fee. If you require a restraining order or temporary support for yourself or your children, you can petition for these also. Within 120 days of filing the complaint, you must arrange for your spouse to be served the following documents by registered mail or in person:
- Copy of Verified Complaint for Divorce
- Copy of Court Summons
- Copy of Temporary Injunctions
Once you have served your spouse, he or she has 21 days to file an answer in the county court. If the spouse resides outside Utah, the deadline is 30 days. If your spouse fails to file an answer within that time, the court can issue a default judgment of divorce and grant whatever relief you have asked for in your petition.
If the respondent spouse files an answer, both spouses must file a financial declaration disclosing their income, assets, debts and expenses. Victoria Cramer understands the stress and anxiety that can accompany these actions and will assist with each step so that the process proceeds as smoothly as possible.
Contested versus uncontested divorce
In a contested divorce, when couples can’t reach agreement on major issues such as alimony, child custody, child support and property division, the court will rule on them. Contested divorces are costly, take more time, and exact a greater emotional toll on the participants. In an uncontested divorce, the parties reach a settlement of these issues and present their agreement to the court, avoiding the time and expense of a trial. For either proceeding, it’s important to realize that your final divorce decree has the force of law, and both parties must adhere to its terms or face contempt of court for any violations. Whichever process you choose, Ms. Cramer will provide the support and advocacy you deserve.
Contact a knowledgeable divorce attorney in Bountiful who can guide you through the process
If you’ve decided on divorce, attorney Victoria Cramer can advise you on your options and help you take the appropriate steps to end your marriage and begin anew. To schedule a consultation, call (801) 872-8633 or contact her online. Based in Bountiful, Utah, Ms. Cramer serves clients in Davis , Salt Lake, Utah and Weber counties.