Diligent Utah Lawyer Guides Guardianships Through Reporting Requirements
Salt Lake City attorney ensures guardians and conservators perform disclosure duties
Being a guardian or conservator of an incapacitated adult is no trivial obligation, and to ensure it’s done properly, Utah law requires that court-appointed guardians and conservators periodically file reports on their charges’ affairs and their handling of them with the court. Utah attorney Victoria Cramer at Victoria Cramer is familiar with these requirements and, if you are a guardian or conservator, can provide reliable advice and assistance to make sure you meet all reporting requirements.
What reports need to be filed?
If you are a court-appointed conservator for an incapacitated adult (who is known as the protected person), or a guardian for the protected person, you are required to file certain reports with the court, such as:
- Inventory of the protected person’s property — Due within 90 days after your appointment, this must identify the property and estimate its value. If more property is acquired or found, you must file an amended inventory.
- Annual status report — This keeps the court aware of how the protected person is faring, including any significant changes in their care and status. It is due within 60 days of each anniversary after you are appointed. However, if you are the protected person’s biological or adopted parent, you are not required to file this type of report.
- Annual financial accounting — This informs the court of the financial status of the protected person. If the protected person has both a conservator and guardian, they should agree on the content of the accounting before it needs to be filed.
- Final accounting — This is required if the protected person dies, the court terminates the guardianship or conservatorship or transfers it to another state. It is also required if you resign or are removed as conservator or guardian.
- Other notices — You are required to inform the court if you expect the protected person to die or move within the next 30 days. You also must inform the court when the protected person does die, is hospitalized for three or more days or goes into hospice care, when there is a change in the protected person’s status that might require the court to expand or limit your authority, and when a guardian or conservator dies.
If you are a conservator or guardian, Ms. Cramer can explain each of these requirements in detail and help you fill out the appropriate reports. She can also help you keep the protected person’s family informed.
Contact a trustworthy Utah attorney to schedule a consultation on guardianship reporting requirements
Victoria Cramer helps guardians and conservators understand their court reporting requirements and other duties. Please call (801) 872-8633 or contact her Salt Lake City office online to schedule a consultation.